Press "Enter" to skip to content

June 2019

50 Years Ago
Louis E. Balzli was elected Grand Knight of Bishop Portier Council #3565, Knights of Columbus in Mobile.
Dr. Thomas Murphy was chosen president of St. Bede’s Parent Teacher Association in Montgomery. Other officers were: Vic Lucido, vice president; Kate Bickley, treasurer; and Cecilia Beessly, secretary.
Rt. Rev. David Sullivan was re-elected president of the Priests Senate at the first meeting of the season.
Sister Mary Vivian Curtin, C.S.J., celebrated her Golden Jubilee in the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondolet at Little Flower Catholic Church, Mobile
State Sen. William McDermott was pictured with two parochial students serving as Senate pages in Montgomery: Bobby Naman from St. Matthew Parish, son of Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Naman; and Steve Palmer, son of Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Palmer, a student at Little Flower.

25 Years Ago
A new Knights of Columbus Council was formed in West Mobile. The name selected was Our Savior Council and it was the fifth K of C fraternal unit in Mobile. John J. Wimberly was elected Acting Grand Knight.
Outstanding graduates of St. Pius X School were John Calagaz, Christian Leadership; Michelle McRae, Academic Excellence; and Erin Nelson, Christian Leadership.
Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb announced the following pastoral appointments: Fr. Adrian L. Cook, pastor of St. Maurice Parish, Brewton and its mission at Flomaton; Fr. Patrick Gallagher, pastor of St. Columba Parish and its mission at Columbia; Fr. William N. Gorman, pastor of St. Michael, Heron Bay; Fr. Charles J. McCabe, pastor of St. Elizabeth Parish, Greenville and its mission at Evergreen; Msgr. Patrick O’Connor, pastor of St. Joan of Arc, Mobile; Fr. David J. Tokarz, pastor of St. Martin, Troy and its mission at Luverne; and Fr. G. Warren Wall, chancellor of the Archdiocese of Mobile, pastor of St. Ignatius Parish.
James O. Devaney III of Bay Minette, was awarded a $2,000 scholarship from Mobile Chapter of the Spring Hill College National Alumni Association.
Fr. Anthony V. Zoghby, priest, pastor and theater founder and director, died after 44 years of priestly service. He was serving as pastor of Our Lady of the Gulf Parish, Gulf Shores.
The Sisters of Mercy celebrate 150 years in the United States.
Members of St. John Guild elected the following new officers: Doris Hussey, president; Thelma Lapointe, vice president; Mary Mayzart, treasurer; Susan Gilbreath, secretary; and Fr. Peter Cunningham, spiritual adviser.
Mrs. Jane Carney of Ladies Auxiliary Council #3565, Mobile, was named State Lady of the Year by the Alabama Knights of Columbus.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Mission News Theme by Compete Themes.