Wed. Oct 21st, 2020

50 Years Ago

Mrs. Harold Dawson was elected president of the Ladies of Charity. Other officers were: Mrs. Joseph Bolton, first vice president; Mrs. Harold Doody, second vice president; Mrs. Charles McKinney, recording secretary; and Mrs. A. J. Amos, treasurer.

Rev. Msgr. J. Edwin Stuardi was honored by the Mobile District PTA for his outstanding service and devoted leadership in Catholic education in the diocese.

Pictured in “The Catholic Week” were Cathy Cooney, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Patrick J. Cooney, and Russ Copeland, son of Mr. and Mrs. Reginald Copeland, ready to model for the annual Mobile District Diocesan Council of Catholic Women’s Card Party/Luncheon.

The Catholic Women’s Club of Selma elected Mrs. W. H. Crutcher, president; Mrs. Otis Hicks, secretary; and Mrs. Brace Lovoy, treasurer.

Col. (ret.) Harold W. Paige, Programs coordinator and director of public relations for the City of St. Jude, was honored by the University of Alabama with initiation in the Phi Delta Kappa International Honorary Fraternity.

St. Catherine School won the AA Division of the Mobile Toy Bowl Field Day for the fifth straight year. Holy Family won the AAA Division and St. Joseph School won the A Division.

Mike Baxley, son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Baxley, earned the spot of first chair trumpet at the All-State Band Festival. Mike headed the trumpet section of the McGill-Toolen Marching and Concert Band.


25 Years Ago

McGill-Toolen student Emma-Betty Sankoorikel was named to the Alabama All State Academic Team consisting of the state’s top 10 seniors based on academic and extra-curricular records.

Spring Hill College faculty members Patricia Neal, Sheri Katz and Mary Jane Curry were selected for prestigious awards by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Corpus Christi Catholic School fifth-graders Dean Harrison, Gaines Johnston, Ellen Geary, Kristin Williamson, Edward Grogan and Nathaniel Blancher won first place in the hardware category at the regional technology fair.

Anne Shinn, a junior at Montgomery Catholic Preparatory School was the first-place winner of the March Festival Scholarship Competition sponsored by the Montgomery Music Society.

McGill-Toolen SGA officers for the 1994-95 were: Marguerite Zoghby, president; Joey Willis, vice president; and Paul Agnew, treasurer.

Father Paul E. Morin, S.S.E., former director of the Edmundite Southern Missions, died in Selma.

Business leader Joseph S. Bruno of Birmingham donated a $100,000 gift of stock to Spring Hill College to help build a new recreation center.

The annual Mary’s Day Celebration was held at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception with Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb as main celebrant, assisted by Fr. James Oberkirch, master of ceremonies, and deacons Rev. Mr. R. Gordon Kenny and Rev. Mr. Raymond Vrazel.

Jake Spain, Montgomery Catholic High junior, was selected as representative for the Youth Leadership Montgomery.

McGill-Toolen sophomore Kara O’Connor was selected as a maid in the Dogwood Trail Court.

Gerard (Jerry) Rubin, of Fords, N.J., was elected Chair of the Spring Hill College Board of Trustees. Other officers were William Harmless S.J., vice chair; Lee Covey, secretary; and President William J. Rewak, S.J. New members elected to serve on the 28-member board were Ann Delchamps, the Rev. Gerald M. Fagan, S.J., Dwight Harrigan, Vaughn Morrissette, the Rev. R. Randal Rainey, S.J., Judge Herman Thomas and Robert Young.

Six candidates for the permanent diaconate in Montgomery who were ordained at St. Bede the Venerable Parish in Montgomery were William H. Grant, Charles B. Gulley, A.B. King III, James R. Labadie, Samuel J. Shippen and John E. Taylor.

Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply