Sat. Oct 24th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Newly elected officers of Mobile General Assembly, Fourth Degree, Knights of Columbus were: Eddie Guidry Jr., faithful navigator; Green T. Waggener, faithful captain; Joseph V. Torrans, faithful pilot; Clarence Barrios, faithful sentinel; Paul Oates, faithful sentinel; and Ralph Leek, faithful scrib.
Mr. and Mrs. William Bolling of Greenville celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary at St. Elizabeth Mission Church.
Officers of St. Theresa Altar Society in Montgomery were: Mrs. F. J. Dunham, president; Mrs. Robert Bumberry, vice president; Mrs. Robert Whitely, secretary; and Mrs. Margaret Catt, treasurer. A Summer Get-Acquainted Tea was held at St. Bede the Venerable Parish’s auditorium.
Mrs. E. F. Mitchell, chairman, announced Burse Club Sunday for Sept. 20. Newly appointed captains were Mrs. Mary W. Bailey, Most Pure Heart of Mary; and Mrs. C. F. Stoll, St. Dominic.
Clergy appointments included: Rev. Wilbur T. Kissel, chaplain of the Catholic Boys Home, Mobile; Rev. Matthew Sindik, assistant pastor of St. Peter Parish, Montgomery, in addition to his primary duties as principal of Montgomery Catholic High School; Rev. David O. Tellier, diocesan director of youth and assistant pastor of Corpus Christi Parish, Mobile; Rev. F. Charles Troncale, assistant pastor of Holy Family Parish, Mobile, in addition to his primary duties as teacher of religion at Bishop Toolen High School.
25 Years Ago
“Imagine God’s Mercy” was the theme of each session of the Catholic Schools’ Orientation Day 1995 held at St. Bede, Montgomery and St. Ignatius, Mobile. Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb was the main celebrant at both sessions which began with the Eucharistic Liturgy and attended by more than 450 teachers. Keynote speaker for the general sessions was Mary Hession whose topic was “Teaching Mercy — A Goldmine in Catholic Education.”
Robert B. Barnett and Terry Ann R. Barnett of Orange Beach were among the class of 96 candidates from throughout the Southeastern United States to be invested as Knights and Ladies of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem.
New officers of the McGill-Toolen PTO for 1995-96 were: Anne and David Walsh, co-presidents; Cathy Baldridge, vice president; Tricia Cowley, secretary; and Jeanie Graham, treasurer.
Daniel Johnson, junior student, was awarded the 1995-96 Robert Vide Memorial Scholarship at Montgomery Catholic High School.
Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb announced that Fr. Sean Horgan, C.S.S.R., was appointed Pastor of Annunciation Parish in Monroeville, with pastoral care extending to the missions of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel, Uriah, and St. Martin de Porres, Vredenburgh.
Members of the McGill-Toolen Varsity Dirty Dozen Volleyball team coached by Becky Dickinson and assistant coach Kathy Chason were: Dennese Littles, Lindsay Stuardi, Terri Murphy, Lisa Spencer, Julie Busbee, Amy Connelly, Erin Hostrander, Kristen Geers, Mary Stone, April Dodd, Mandy Reimer, Kristi Black, Holly Miller and Beth Olen.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply