Thu. Oct 22nd, 2020

50 Years Ago
Mr. Jacob McDuff received appointment as president of St. Jude High School in Montgomery from Rev. Msgr. Paul J. Mullany, director of the City of St. Jude.
Miss Mignon Kilday, Mobile Press Register staff writer, was one of nine Spring Hill College Alumnae selected in the 1970 edition of “Outstanding Young Women of America.”
Rev. Theodore H. Hay, teacher at McGill Institute, was appointed director of vocations.
Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Peterson Jr. of Auburn were honored at a parish-wide supper held at St. Michael Parish in Auburn. Both were members of the original Parish Council Board. Mrs. Peterson served as president of the Catholic Women’s Association. Mr. Peterson was consultant and adviser in the construction of the new church.
New officers elected by the Knights of Peter Claver were: Ernest Granger, Supreme Knight; Edward J. Roy, Deputy Supreme Knight; Joseph Jacquer, National Secretary; Dr. Earl Smith, National Treasurer; A. M. Wickliff, National Advocate; and James B. Johnson, National Editor.

25 Years Ago
With four academic degrees and 87 years under his belt, Joseph Downing, a clinical psychologist, returned to Spring Hill College as a graduate student in the Theology Department.
The Milton O. Larche, Jr. Family of St. Dominic Parish, Mobile, was named Family of the Year by Knights of Columbus Council 666.
McGill-Toolen graduate Richard Coarsey was named an All-American Collegiate Scholar by the United States Achievement Academy. Richard was attending the University of South Alabama.
Fr. James Joseph Harrington, C.P.S., a former longtime Paulist Missionary who served out of Mobile for many years, died in New York City.
Fr. James Kee served his first Mass at St. Columba Parish, Dothan.
Spring Hill College began its 165th year announcing a new bachelor of science program for the fall. Carol Henderson headed the new SHC Division of Nursing.
The Under-Ten-Team of Our Lady Queen of Mercy was awarded a trophy for winning the City Championship in Montgomery.
Spring Hill College President William J. Rewak, S.J. presented the Ignatian Awards to Miss Kay McLeod and Mr. Joe Wilson. The prestigious award is given by the college’s National Alumni Association recognizing the recipients devotion to the Ignatian ideals and community service.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply