Mon. Oct 19th, 2020

50 Years Ago

William R. Dolan and Joseph Lanaux Marston, Jr. were delegates to the National Holy Name Society Convention in New Orleans.

Denny Abbott, chief probation officer of Montgomery Family Court, addressed the sixth meeting of the Montgomery area Confraternity of Christian Doctrine Youth Program at St. Bede School.

President Margaret Peters presided over the annual Bishop Toolen Homecoming for all alumnae. Maxine Primm served as emcee at the Banquet. Sr. Claire Charest, D.C., past president of the alumnae, was the guest of honor.

Clergy appointments included Rev. David Kosky as chaplain of Villa Mercy, Daphne and Rev. Thomas Leonard, assistant pastor of St. Mary Parish, Mobile.

Frank Ahn, administrator of Providence Hospital Mobile, was elected to the Board of Directors of Alabama Hospital Association at the annual convention in Montgomery.

The St. Jude Pirates basketball team in Montgomery had an impressive record for the season as they finished 21-4. The team had a perfect 21-0 record over Class 2-A schools in their division.


25 Years Ago

New Officers of the Baldwin-Escambia Deanery of the Archdiocesan Council of Catholic Women were: Liz Duryea, president; Kathryn Hire, first vice president; Ann Delaune, corresponding secretary; Mercedes Meredith, treasurer; Olivette Croxell, historian; Michele Pliska, second vice president; Janice Neth, parliamentarian; Karen McClantoc, recording secretary; and Terri Russell, auditor.

John Trotter was named director of Music and Liturgical Ministries for St. Ignatius Parish.

Officers of the St. Jude Credit Union in its 25th year were: Ed Clark, president; Fr. Matthew Sindik, vice president; Tom Logan, treasurer; Nellie Gordon, credit committee chairperson; Dottie Dean, credit committee co-chairperson; Jack Studdard, supervisory committee co- chairperson.

Members of the Montgomery Serra Club with perfect attendance records since the club was organized in February 1994 were: Dorothy Wagner, Barbara Connelly, Helen Walker, Beth Russo, vice president for membership; Don Connelly, president; Fr. Patrick Maher, chaplain; Billy Meyer, Stephen Meyer and Beverly Kuwik.

Our Lady of Lourdes School won first place in the World Aids Poster Contest in the School division and first place in the Student division.

A 1963 Spring Hill College alumnus gave the college a $500,000 gift which established the John J. Burke Entrepreneurial Leadership Scholarship Fund.

A Bishop’s Canonical Meeting was held in Mobile and Orange Beach. Attending were Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb, Bishop Joseph L. Howze, Biloxi, Miss., Bishop William R. Houck, Jackson, Miss., Bishop David F. Foley, Birmingham, Ala., Fr. Joseph W. Kukura, vice president ministry services, C. H. A., and Mr. John E. Curly, president of the Catholic Health Association.

Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.



By Editor

Leave a Reply