Mon. Oct 19th, 2020

50 Years Ago

Seventeen girls in Girl Scout Junior Troop 125 at St. Ignatius School made and displayed an afghan in the Girl Scout Art Show at Bel Air Mall and won a first-place blue ribbon. Mrs. Paul Toomey and Mrs. J. Carlton Wilkins were troop leaders. The afghan was given to the Little Sisters of the Poor.

Mrs. Charles McGinty was named the general chairman of Catholic High Spring Festival in Montgomery with Charles McGinty, co-chairman and Mrs. Nell Lushington, booth chairman. Fr. Bernard Powell was principal.

Providence Hospital Staff and Auxiliary Officers sponsored an annual career day for Azalea Road, Davidson High School, Bishop Toolen High, McGill Institute, University Military School, Wright’s and B.C. Rain High School. Auxiliary President Mrs. John C. Courtney welcomed the students. Mrs. Jeff Pettis and Mrs. Marion Wilkins served as chairmen for the event.

Mrs. W. W. Nicoll, president of the Montgomery Deanery Diocesan Council of Catholic Women, announced Col. Russell P. Bonasso of Fort Rucker would be speaker at the meeting to be held in Enterprise.


25 Years Ago

Archbishop John L. May, retired archbishop of St. Louis and seventh bishop of the Diocese of Mobile, who had once headed the National Conference of Catholic bishops, died after a 20-month battle with brain cancer. The funeral was held in St. Louis.

Thousands of visitors enjoyed the floral displays and activities at the Festival of Flowers sponsored by the Providence Hospital Foundation and held on the Spring Hill College campus.

Mrs. Maxine Primm, president of the Mobile District Archdiocesan Council of Catholic Women, announced Mrs. Betty Russell would be chairman of the Annual Card Party/Fashion Show/Luncheon with Mrs. Cora Voloshik serving as co-chairman.

Sister Mary Ellen Croggan (Laboure), O.P. died in Wisconsin. Sister served as executive director of Adult Education at St. Jude, Montgomery.

Professor A. Frederick Hemphill retired after teaching for 37 years at Spring Hill College.

Sister Leo Marie Reynolds, S.L., celebrated her 60th anniversary of profession of vows. A Mass of Thanksgiving was held at Our Lady Queen of Mercy, Montgomery.

Sister of Mercy, Sr. Augusta (Patricia) Reilly, R.S.M., was selected as one of the Baltimore City Commission for Women 1994 Hall of Fame honorees. Sister was a native of Mobile.

Members of the newly formed TIPS Advisory Board were Dr. Aidan A. Licari, Steve Rojeski, Enrique Gomez Palacio, Rebecca Titford, Wendy Allen, Pat Guyton and Fr. Patrick Gallagher.

Emma Betty Sankoorikal, McGill-Toolen senior, was named a semi-finalist in the 1994 Presidential Scholars Program.

Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.



By Editor

Leave a Reply