Sat. Sep 26th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Officers of the new Fourth Degree Knights of Columbus Assembly in Ozark were: Luke E. Hart, Jack M. Wall, Joseph F. Binker, Conrad J. Provencher, Richard K. Farwell, Robert C. Schwarz and Jack K. Hode.
Team members of Montgomery Catholic High Math Team competed at the 7th Invitational Tournament sponsored by Sanford University. Participating were Paul Casey, Regis Nicoll, Jean Allen and Don Jehle.
The Catholic Maritime Club, under Director Gerald E. Strang, celebrated the 24th anniversary of its founding by Bishop Thomas J. Toolen. Joseph A. Allain was president of the board of directors.
The Junior Auxiliary of Providence Hospital oriented a class of 52 new Candy Stripers, who were welcomed by Donna Constantine, president.
William N. McKeever was elected president of the Mobile County Chapter of Citizens for Decent Literature. Hinton Davis was named vice president and Elizabeth Steel, secretary.
Mrs. Mildred Dickson was installed as president of the St. Pius X Sodality. Other officers were: Mrs. Jean Purvis, vice president; Mrs. Betty Russell, secretary; and Mrs. Nancy Hartley, treasurer.
25 Years Ago
A total of 439 young people from 33 parishes in the Archdiocese of Mobile met in Mobile to participate in the Mobile Archdiocese Youth Convention.
Dr. Donna Power, the learning disability coordinator at McGill-Toolen High School was chosen to address the 1994, National Catholic Educational Association annual Convention and Exposition in Anaheim, Calif.
Clara Jernigan served as Shamrock Appeal chairman for the Ladies of Charity. Jean Lewis was president of the organization.
Mrs. Marian Watts served as chairman of the St. Ignatius Children’s Memorial Benefit.
McGill-Toolen High Azalea Trail Court members for 1994-95 were Jennifer Abreo, Ashley Kelly, Stephanie Lomax and Marguerite Zoghby.
“Meeting the Challenge Head On” was the theme for St. Mary’s Home’s first capital fund campaign in its more that 150-year history. Chairing the campaign committee was Michael Druhan Jr.; Dwain Mangold, patrons chairman; and Walter Hovell, steering committee chairman. Board chair for St. Mary’s Home was Ken Kvalheim.
Officers of the newly organized Montgomery Serra Club were: Donald W. Connelly, president; Beth Russo, vice president membership; Barry Cavan, vice president programs; Harold Grant, vice president vocations; Pat Adams, secretary; and Larry Russo, treasurer.
Sister Adelaide Thompson, O.S.B., who pioneered the new St. Pius X in Mobile in 1957, died at Sacred Heart Monastery.
Spring Hill College junior Emily Coody was selected as one of 75 students nationwide for an internship with the Federal Bureau of Investigation in Washington, D.C.
McGill-Toolen High student Chad Patterson tied for third place at the Mississippi State Physics Contest. Peter Histing won a Special Achievement Certificate and Tim Hecker and Ben Heinz won Achievement Certificates. These four McGill-Toolen students scored in the top 25 of 633 students participating in the competition.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply