Fri. Oct 23rd, 2020

50 Years Ago

Forty-two seniors graduated from Montgomery Catholic High. Jean Allen was valedictorian and Emily Roman, salutatorian.

Mrs. Laurene Reynolds officially handed the gavel to Mrs. James Fitzgerald, the new president of the Catholic Women’s Club of Enterprise.

Named officers of the Mobile Theater Guild were: Walter T. Neese, president; Elmore H. Wentworth, vice president; Myrtle Trott, vice president; Guynell Winter, recording secretary; and Donna McEllroy, corresponding secretary.

Rev. Louis M. Suffredini, assistant pastor of Little Flower Parish and chaplain of the Port of Mobile, was elected President of the National Apostleship of the Sea at the 24th annual meeting held in New York.

Honor graduates of McGill Institute were Sidney B. Smith, Jere H. Link, William P. Fogarty, James D. Henderson and Francois L. Moseby.

Bishop Toolen High honored seniors were Frances R. Whitespunner, Beverly A. Burns, Marie C. Toomer, Christalyn M. Cagle and Margaret C. Harwood.

Rt. Rev. J. Edwin Stuardi was assigned full-time pastor of Corpus Christi Parish in Mobile. Rt. Rev. William R. Houck was appointed superintendent of schools.

Sister Laura, CSJ, was honored at a tea at Little Flower School in Mobile on the golden anniversary of her teaching career.

Top honor students from St. Jude Junior High School in Montgomery were Vickie Christburg and Alvetta Nicks.

Charles Harbin III received special recognition in the annual Math Talent Search out of 5,000 students who competed.


25 Years Ago

Catholic Social Services was recipient of a price-fix law suit against Keds Corporation that brought $93,370 in the settlement.

Captain David Carey, Maritime board member and member of St. Dominic Parish, presented the 1994 Quartermaster Award of the Maritime Club of Mobile to Andrew A. Saunders Jr. for his leadership in the marine industry and a credit to the Port of Mobile.

Installed as officers of the Little Sisters of the Poor Auxiliary were: Jo Ann Ryan, president; Dolly Galle, first vice president; Helen Donnelly, recording secretary; Eoline Werneth, second vice president; Helen Allen, corresponding secretary; Kathy Smallwood, historian; Norma Jean Rooney, treasurer; Rosalie Ankerson, auditor; and Eloise Fadalla, parliamentarian. Mother Judith, LSP, assisted by Sr. Celestine, LSP, installed the officers.

Brenda Elsevier, principal of Corpus Christi School, was honored for 25 years of service at the school.

Michael A. Ford, a 1958 Spring Hill College graduate and member of St. Lawrence Parish, Fairhope, received the College’s prestigious Ignatian Award for community service from Spring Hill College President William J. Rewak, S.J.

Rev. Msgr. Oliver E. Adams celebrated his 40th anniversary of priestly service at St. Catherine of Siena Catholic Church.

The 1994 inductees to National Honor Society at Montgomery Catholic High were: Lucy McLemare, Dawn Ofodile, Brian Geary, Jenny Lauer, Kelly Hudson, Gil Smith and Jeremy O’Quin.

Father John C. Robinson, pastor of Holy Family Parish, celebrated his 40th anniversary celebrating Mass assisted by Fr. Adrian Cook and Fr. Russell Biven.

Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.



By Editor

Leave a Reply