Tue. Oct 27th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Fr. John Robinson, pastor of St. Bridget Parish, Whistler, was guest speaker for Mary’s Day celebration, Montgomery.
McGill varsity cheerleaders elected were Pat Cowley, Vance McCown, Tommy Rudisill and John Paffenbach.
President Robert Brazier and Grand Knight James Seals Jr., of Council #1, welcomed members of the Knights of St. Peter Claver to the Gulf Coast Conference held in Mobile.
Steve Flynn of McGill Institute was presented the American Legion Oratory Award by Commissioner Joseph N. Langan.
Eight Scouts of Troop 143, St. Dominic Parish, received Eagle Scout Badges: Vernon Fowlkes, Dennis Smith, Mike Quint, Mike Smith, Andy Smith, Jack Harty, Steve Krause and Charles Gregory. James E. Quint was Scoutmaster.
Receiving Summa Cum Laude for the National Latin Exam were Bishop Toolen High students Reade White-Spunner, Delphine Smith, Jamie Mayhall and Mary Catherine Green.
Chet Baker was elected President of Corpus Christi PTA succeeding outgoing president Billy Dolan. Ed Roh was vice president; Beth Conley, secretary; and Ruth Arata, treasurer.
Twenty-seven members of Cathedral Choir were pictured at a breakfast held at Cathedral Rectory in appreciation of their dedication. Dwayne Scott was choir director.
Margaret Ingate and Margaret Harwood, seniors at Bishop Toolen High, were awarded National Merit Scholarships.
Melvin Jones and Chris Howard, seniors at St. Jude High School, were recipients of Most Valuable Player awards.
John Sullivan, Catholic High senior, Montgomery, was honored as the 10th recipient of the Jimmy Hitchcock Award for outstanding Christian leadership in four years of competitive athletics.
Jerry Smith and William Case were featured soloists at McGill-Toolen’s annual concert band performance.
Nellie Chambers, graduate of Bishop Toolen High, received the trophy for Outstanding Player from Women’s Sports Association at Sacred Heart College for the second straight year.
25 Years Ago
Msgr. Oliver Adams celebrated 40 years as a priest at St. Catherine of Siena Parish.
McGill-Toolen Foundation Board of Directors named Farrell Morris, Mary P. Powell and Frank H. Summersell, Jr. to three-year terms. Joseph Baker and Arthur Outlaw were re-appointed for additional three-year terms.
Knights of Peter Claver and Ladies Auxiliary held their 47th Gulf Coast Conference in Mobile. The Honorable Herman Y. Thomas, Mobile County 13th Circuit Court Judge, was the keynote speaker.
McGill-Toolen chorus teacher Beth Haley and assistant principal Brother Paul Mulligan, S.C., were winners of the PTO Heart of Gold Award for exceptional service to the students.
The Catholic Church Extension Society established the Archbishop John L. May Memorial Fund to honor the ten years he spent as president of the Society, 1959-1969. He was serving as president when he was named seventh Bishop of Mobile.
McGill-Toolen senior class officers for 1994-95 were Jennifer Abreo, president; Garrick Short, vice president; Ashley Kelly, secretary; and Justin Bachman, treasurer.
St. Jude parishioner and parish council member, and TIPS graduate, Mrs. Carolyn H. Tillage, was awarded a scholarship by the Alabama Retired Teacher’s Foundation.
Camille Quindlen, Chris Rux, Kyle Spafford, Thomas O’Gorman, Adam Jarvis, Elizabeth Harris and Day Zimlich were the St. Ignatius top scorers in the Continental Math League.
Winners of the 63rd annual CYO Field Day were: Holy Family School, Blue Division Champion and Christ the King School (Daphne) Red Division Champion.
The McGill-Toolen Band received a unanimous Superior rating and placed second overall at the All-American Music Festival. This marked the first time in school history that the program received unanimous Superior ratings in all contest entered during the year.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply