Sat. Oct 24th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Winners of Mobile’s Toy Bowl Field Day were: Division A-St. Peter Claver School; Division AA-St. Monica School and Division AAA-Holy Family School.
Bishop John L. May appointed Rev. Michael J. Dyer editor of “The Catholic Week” for the Mobile Diocese.
The homily at Mary’s Day celebrated at Mobile Municipal Auditorium was given by Bishop John L. May. Students from all the area schools were present and participated in the recitation of the Rosary and Benediction.
Rev. Patrick Cullen, director of the Apostolate for the Mentally Handicapped, was guest speaker at the Montgomery DCCW meeting. Mrs. W. W. Nicoll was president.
James M. Seals, Jr., Grand Knight of Council No. 1, Knights of Peter Claver awarded Silver Certificates to members for 25 years of service. Oldest member was John C. Pope.
The McGill Club appointed new officers: Dr. Andrew Burch, president; Bernie Diamond, first vice president; John Calametti, second vice president; Larry McKinney, third vice president; Jack Friend, secretary; and Pat Kelly, treasurer. Vince Dooley, head football coach at the University of Georgia, was guest speaker at the spring banquet.
25 Years Ago
McGill-Toolen Student Government officers for the 1995-96 were Whitney Bain, president; Aimee Ward, vice president; Paul Agnew, secretary; and Todd LaCour, treasurer.
Sean Welch of Queen of Mercy School, Montgomery, was honored at the Regional Science Fair. He received awards from Auburn University, The American Meteorology Society, NASA and the Navy Marine Corps for Distinguished Achievement. He received an all-expense paid trip to San Diego to compete nationally with his aerospace research experiment focusing on wind shear.
Receiving the Boy Scouts Ad Altari Dei Medal were Brandon Stanford, Joseph Naman and Joe Minto of Holy Family Parish and Jimmy and John Phelps of Corpus Christi Parish. The scouts were members of Troop 39.
Sister Judith Meredith, L.S.P., and members of the Little Sisters of the Poor Auxiliary completed the planting of a memorial dogwood tree outside the Sacred Heart Residence.
The 1994 Vespidae, McGill-Toolen Yearbook, was named a five-star All-American yearbook by the National Catholic Scholastic Press Association for the 14th consecutive year. The Columbia Press Association also awarded its highest honor — Medalist. Emily Zoghby, editor, won the Golden Key Award for 1st place in the nation for a color Student Life Spread.
Gia Kimbrough, eighth-grade student at Our Lady of Lourdes School, received the Youth Merit Award by the Mobile Sunrise Rotary Club.
The Lady Jackets Golf Team won the District One title for the 6th time in the last 7 years. Tricia Burch, Leslie Brislin, Leigh Ankerson and Amanda Mize led the team to its 40th victory without a defeat.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply