Tue. Oct 27th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Elbert J. LaLande of Mobile was elected President of the Diocesan Unit of the National Catholic Guidance Conference.
Congressman Jack Edwards made an Eagle Award presentation to Scouts Hodges Harty and Pat Ankerson of St. Dominic Parish.
Chaplain (Col.) John F. Denshy, Commandant of the University’s Air Force Chaplain School at Maxwell A.F.B., was guest homilist at the annual city-wide Thanksgiving Day Mass at St. Peter’s Church.
Scholarships were awarded to two Montgomery students at S. Margaret School of Nursing: Peggy Cordell and Mary Frances Andrews.
William Holcombe Pryor, director of the Bishop Toolen High and McGill Institute bands, was appointed chairman of the southern division of the nation’s Catholic Bandmasters’ Association.
Fr. Maurice Shields, pastor of St. Joseph Parish, Lillian, announce plans for the parish “Hootnanny.” Folk singers from St. Mary’s school in Mobile were invited to participate.
Student Council Officers at Montgomery Catholic High were: Paul Hiehel, president; Charles Harbin, vice president; and Pam Newman, secretary/treasurer.
Mrs. J. Frank Jones, newly installed president of the Mobile District Diocesan Council of Catholic Women, entertained at a coffee for board members and presidents of Catholic organizations in the Mobile area.

25 Years Ago
The Catholic Extension Society named Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb to the Board of Governors.
Rev. Mr. William R. Dolan was elected to the Board of Directors of the National Catholic Stewardship Council at the annual convention in Nashville.
Msgr. Guido Calleja was appointed the pastor of St. John Parish, Magnolia Springs.
St. Robert Bellarmine, Atmore, AL celebrated its 50th anniversary. Most Rev. Oscar H. Lipscomb presided over the jubilee liturgy commemorating 50 years in the Atmore area. Fr. William Folsom served as pastor.
Sister Mary John Robinson, D.C., was honored for fifty-four years of sharing her abilities with others by the St. Bede Parish Community.
MvGill-Toolen’s varsity girls Cross Country team won the State Championship. The Boy’s Varsity captured second place and the Freshmen Girls finished in third place. The teams were coached by Coach Angelo Harris.
Named to the All-County Volleyball team was McGill junior Julie Oberding, Sophomore Lindsay Stuardi and Freshman Beth Olen.
Playing lead roles in Theater McGill-Toolen’s production of “Rebel Without a Cause” were Robert Eckhoff, Ricky Flannangan, Teresa Griffin, Katie Jackson, Mike Odom and Chad Patterson.
Reigning over the 46th annual Toy Bowl festivities were Queen Lisa Gadel Johnston and King Adam Eugene Inzina and honored being named the first Toy Bowl Princess was Anna Louise Bender escorted by Knight Lauten Johnson.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply