Sat. Oct 24th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Catholic leaders in Mobile were strong supporters of the new City Ordinance against pornography. City Attorney Fred Collins of St. Dominic Parish, drafted the new ordinance.
Elected officers of the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick were: George Moore, president; John Kern, vice president; Bernard J. Fitzsimmons, secretary; and T. D. Bell, treasurer.
St. Jude Pirates scored their fifth straight shutout in a row, defeating Booker T. Washington 10-0. Bostick Jones, Harold Smiley and John Carlie were outstanding on offense.
Maria Robinson was chosen Montgomery Catholic High Homecoming Queen. Senior attendants were Joan Walker and Eleanor Clark.
McGill High celebrated Homecoming with a win over the Escambia Rebels behind the passing of Mark Dowey. Art Dyas and Mark Cornelius scored two touchdowns each. Billy Connick was a standout on defense.
Recipients of the Ad Altare Dei Award at St. Matthew Parish were Boy Scouts Richard Swan, Thomas Santa Cruz, John Smith and Thomas Bozant.
Archbishop Thomas J. Toolen celebrated a Solemn Pontifical Mass at the Cathedral on the Feast of Christ the King. About 10,000 people participated in the procession Sunday afternoon to the Mobile Municipal Auditorium. Rev. Joseph Jennings delivered the sermon.
Officers of the St. Jude Challenging Youth Club were Robert Johnson, president; D. Winston, vice president; Vickie Christborg, recording secretary; V. Cartedge, secretary; and J. Johnson, treasurer.
Mrs. C. H. Wilkes of Silverhill was named chairman of St. John Parish Festival, Magnolia Springs. Fr. James Kirwan served as pastor.
25 Years Ago
Gloria Zoghby, Burse Club Treasurer of the Mobile District Archdiocesan Council of Catholic Women, presented Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb a check for $85,000 from the Burse Club for the education of seminarians studying for the priesthood.
Pope John Paul II celebrated the 15th anniversary of his election as pope.
Catholic High junior Richard Currence was the only Alabama student selected to play on the Lanzern National Select Soccer Team.
The McGill-Toolen Band, directed by David Pryor, was the only band in its classification at the Dixieland Marching Band Festival to receive unanimous Superior rating. Drum Major was Martha Thompson.
Named National Merit Semi-Finalist at McGill-Toolen were Rob Watson, Emma-Betty Sankoorikal, Chad Patterson and Peter Histing.
Fr. Joseph M. Bolling was appointed administrator of St. Matthew Parish, Mobile.
Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb blessed the Holy Family Pre-School building for 3- and 4-year-olds.
Sister Maria Talmont, O.P., who served as an elementary school teacher and religious education director for 36 years in the Archdiocese of Mobile, died.
Reigning over McGill-Toolen Homecoming were Queen Shelly Meurer; Seniors — Kim Floyd, Kristi Young, Donnely Nelson; Juniors — Mary Brandeau, Katie Hughes, Amy Donohue; Sophomores — Lacy Elder and Aimee Ward; and Freshmen — Amy Connolly and Debbie Spotswood.
The 1993 Little Flower Talent Show winner was Katie Noletto.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply