Tue. Oct 27th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Joseph Lanaux Marston Jr., a member of the Holy Name Confraternity for more than 40 years, was appointed to serve with the hierarchy liaison group by the national director, Rev. Brendan Larnen, O.P.
Max Morgan presided over the first PTA session of Little Flower School. Rev. Joseph Carney and Rev. Patrick Nicholson, new assistant pastors, were introduced.
Rev. Thomas Weise was named to head the new Alabama Child Care Unit.
Three seniors at Bishop Toolen High School were named National Merit Finalists: Lynn Marie Hutcher, Delphine Smith and Mary Ann Young.
The Brothers of the Sacred Heart contracted with St. Paul’s Day School for the $315,000 purchase of the Scholasticate near Spring Hill College.
St. Joseph’s Church, Lillian, held its seventh annual Bazaar.

25 Years Ago
Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb announced the appointment of Rev. Peter Cunningham, pastor of St. Joseph Parish, Enterprise, as Regional Episcopal Vicar for the Dothan Deanery.
The new parish center of St. Thomas By-The-Sea Catholic Parish in Orange Beach was blessed and dedicated. Rev. Francis Cusack served as pastor.
Ceremonial groundbreaking was held for Spring Hill College’s new $5 million student recreation center. Participants in the ceremony included: Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb, trustee; Rev. William Rewak, SHC president; Gerald R. Rubin, president, SHC board of trustees; Dr. Michael Johnson, professor of business and management at SHC; Harold T. McCormick, trustee; Arthur Outlaw, trustee; and Robert Young Jr. trustee.
Rev. Fr. Mychal F. Judge, O.F.M., a chaplain for the New Your City Fire Department addressed the Mobile Firemen and their families at the Fireman’s Mass held at St. Catherine of Siena Church, Mobile. Rev. Msgr. Oliver Adams, chaplain of the Mobile Fire Department, was the principal Mass celebrant.
The Mobile Chapter of the Drexel Society hosted the 1994 Biennial Convention at the Radisson Admiral Semmes Hotel. The theme was “Where He leads me, I will follow.”
New officers of the ACCW Montgomery Deanery were: Mary Gaines, president; Mary Briers, first vice president; Helen Burger, second vice president; Mary Richardson, third vice president; Amy West, secretary; Maggie Stringer, auditor; and Dot Golab, parliamentarian.
Officers of the McGill-Toolen Math Club Mu Alpha Theta were: Kit Perrien, president; Nick Coleman, vice president; and Julia Gruenewald, secretary-treasurer.
Father Matthew Sindik, pastor and director of The City of St. Jude, welcomed Mr. William Sonak, an apostolic volunteer, to teach at St. Jude High School.
A Mass of Thanksgiving was held to honor Fr. Joseph C. Rodney, SSJ, at Prince of Peace Parish for his years of service as pastor and to the faith community.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply