Tue. Oct 27th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Mrs. John T. Doyle, PTA district council president, stressed the PTA’s importance at a meeting at Bishop Toolen High School. Dr. C. A. Lightcap praised Msgr. J. Edwin Stuardi for his 12 years as superintendent of schools.
Fr. Gerard D. Conroy, CM, was assigned pastor of St. Patrick Parish, Phenix City.
Rev. Phillip Linden, S.S.J., celebrated Mass at the home of Golden Jubilarians, Mr. & Mrs. George H. Steill, in Mobile. It was followed by a reception.
Sister Almeda Golson, C.D., was appointed director of Nursing Services at St. Margaret Hospital in Montgomery, according to Sister Scholastica, D.C., administrator.
Keith Matthews, ‘69 graduate of St. Jude High School in Montgomery, was awarded a Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Scholarship to St. Bernard College in Cullman.
George S. Moore was elected president of the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick. Others elected were John Kern, vice president; Thomas D. Bell, treasurer; and Bernard J. Fitzsimmons, secretary.

25 Years Ago
Archbishop Oscar H. Lipscomb blessed and dedicated the new St. Mark Church in Wetumpka. Officials of the Catholic Extension Society and members of the family of the late Archbishop John L. May were among the honored guests.
Pat Schrand, president of the Dothan Deanery ACCW, was named general Chairman of the 59th annual ACCW Convention. She was assisted by Arline Zimmer co-chairman and Sue Farnsworth as program chairman.
The theme of Catechetical Sunday was “Seek God’s Wisdom.” There were 78 new catechists certified joining 516 previously certified catechists.
Sister M. DeSales Flanagan, OP, celebrated 50 years as a Sinsinawa Dominican. She served as principal at St. Thomas School in Chickasaw from 1982-1989.
Spring Hill College was named among the nearly 300 colleges and universities nationwide selected for “Barron’s Best Buys in College Education.”
St. Columba Catholic Women’s Club in Dothan held a Welcoming Tea at the parish hall to welcome new pastor Rev. Patrick J. Gallagher and new deacon Rev. Mr. Ron Moore and new parish members.
W. Carl Martin was selected as executive vice president/chief operating officer for Providence Hospital.
The Montgomery Serra Club received its Charter from District 86 Gov. Joseph Ryan. Donald W. Connelly served as president of the Montgomery Club and also as an International Trustee.
Named National Merit Semifinalists for McGill-Toolen Catholic High School were Joel Hoffman, Belinda McDonald, Tara Miller, Geena-Mary Sankoorikal and James Wall.
Members of the 1994-95 McGill-Toolen Homecoming Court were: Seniors Regina Coleman, Katie Hughes, Kathleen Mulroy and Gretchen Ojard; juniors Tiffany Bell, Lacy Elder and Lindsay Stuardi; sophomores Erin Hostrander and Kristen Smiley; and freshmen Natalie Bailey and Mary Ollinger.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply