Sat. Sep 26th, 2020

50 Years Ago
Bishop John L. May celebrated Mass of the Holy Spirit to open the school year at McGill’s Portier Center.
Clergy appointments included: Rev. Patrick C. O’Conner, pastor and director of the City of St. Jude, Montgomery; Rev. Patrick Gallagher, associate pastor of Little Flower, Mobile; and Rev. Anthony V. Zoghby, religion teacher at Bishop Toolen High School, Mobile, in addition to his primary duties as pastor of Our Lady of Fatima Parish, Prichard.
The C.C.D. Office held Open House at their new quarters on the third floor of the Tribunal Building. Rev. Russell Biven was serving as director.
Mrs. W. N. Crutcher, president, presided over the Catholic Women’s meeting in Selma.
Rev. Thomas Leonard was appointed pastor of St. Joseph Parish, Prattville.
Members of the Mobile County Drug Abuse Committee were Dr. Jack O. Yeager, Mrs. Cathy Lightsey, David V. de Gruy and Brother Andre, S.C.
Tommy Lyons of St. Dominic Parish, Mobile, received the Eagle Scout Badge and the Ad Altare Dei Award, the highest religious award for the Catholic Faith.
The 24th annual meeting of the Apostleship of the Sea was held in Mobile. Rev. Louis Suffredini served as Chaplain of the Port of Mobile and George M. Cox, board member, was named chairman of the convention.
Elected as cheerleaders for McGill Institute were: Becky Small, Ginger Crow, Melanie Wells, Jamie Mayhall, Martha Hill, Nonie Crow, Joe Dooley, Tom Rudisill, John Pafenbach, Vance McCown, Ade Bodet and Carey Bolling.
25 Years Ago
Erin Hayden, Michelle Masser, Scott Morgan and Phillip Autrey, students from the ACE program, in its second year at Notre Dame, were teaching in the Montgomery Catholic schools for the year including St. Jude High, St. John/Resurrection School and St. Bede School.
Serving on the publicity sub-committee for McGill-Toolen’s Centennial Celebration were Steve North, Anthony O’Connor, Beverly Finkbohner, Betty Blanchard, Marian Watts and Margaret Goff.
Jennifer Zoghby, 1991 McGill-Toolen graduate, conducted a journalism writing workshop for McGill-Toolen’s Publicity Committee. Students attending were Erin Grip, Kara O’Connor, Kit Perrien, Emily Reimer, Whitney Bain, Lynn Cain, Meg Demeranville, Mary Ann Flippo, Shannon Grogan, Annie Hughes, Maureen McDermott, Anthony O’Conner, Winslow Partridge and Megan Pollman.
In the final membership standings for the 1994-95 year, Alabama won the Knights of Columbus Division VI (under 5,300 members) category at the Knights of Columbus Superman Meeting in Kansas City.
Rev. Mr. Duncan MacMillan Turnbull died at Thomas Hospital in Fairhope. A member of the first class of ordained deacons for the Diocese of Mobile, and serving St. Lawrence, he was instrumental in the founding of Ecumenical Ministries, Inc., St. Lawrence Parish, St. Vincent de Paul Society and Council 8959 of the Knights of Columbus.
President William J. Rewak, S.J., president of Spring Hill College, announced an endowed scholarship to benefit students from Mobile and Baldwin counties, established by Mrs. Cummings, and named the Marl Marcellus Cummings, Jr. Family Endowed Scholarship.
—Anne Baggett compiles information for Looking Back from past issues of this newspaper. Anne is a member of St. Mary Parish in Mobile.

By Editor

Leave a Reply